HB 1486

The 2017 Maryland legislature is in high gear.  We are asking you to support HB1486 to improve reading instruction in the state of Maryland by requiring a test of research-based reading instruction for certification of Kindergarten through 5th grade teachers, Reading Teachers, Reading Specialists, and Special Education Teachers. You may read the house bill, here.  The first hearing is in the Ways and Means Committee on March 7th at 1 PM and we were advised that it would be very helpful to have you, as constituents, call or email the members of that committee to let them know that you support the bill. The following are the members of the committee and their districts. We need to ACT NOW!

 

Montgomery County Delegates:

Delegate Eric Luedtke, District 14 – Email: eric.luedtke@house.state.md.us   Phone: (410 841 3110)  

Delegate Anne Kaiser, District 14 – Emailanne.kaiser@house.state.md.us   Phone: (410 841 3036) 

Jheanelle Wilkins, District 20 Emailjheanelle.wilkins@house.state. md.us   Phone: (410 841 3493)

 

Baltimore County Delegates

Delegate Eric Ebersole, District 12 Emaileric.ebersole@house.state.md.us   Phone: (410 841-3328)

Delegate Robert B. Long,  District 6  – Emailbob.long@house.state.md.us   Phone: (410 841 3458) 

 

Howard County Delegates:

Delegate Eric Ebersole, District 12 Emaileric.ebersole@house.state.md.us   Phone: (410 841-3328)

Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13  – Emailfrank.turner@house.state.md.us   Phone: (410 841 3246)

 

Prince George’s County Delegates:

Delegate James Tarlau, District 47A Emailjimmy.tarlau@house.state.md.us   Phone: (410 841 3326)

Delegate Jay Walker, District 26 Emailjay.walker@house.state.md.us   Phone: (410 841 3581)

Delegate Darryl Barnes, District 25 Emaildarryl.barnes@house.state.md.us   Phone: (410 841 3557)

Delegate Carolyn B. Howard, District 24 Emailcarolyn.howard@house.state.md.us   Phone: (410 841 3919)

Delegate Alonzo Washington, District 22 Emailalonzo.washington@house.state.md.us   Phone: (410 841 3652)

 

Carroll County Delegates:

Delegate April Rose, District 5 Emailapril.rose@house.state.md.us   Phone: (410 841 3070)

Delegate Kathryn Afzali, District 4  – Emailkathy.afzali@house.state.md.us   Phone: (410 841 3288)

Delegate Haven Shoemaker, Jr. District 5 Emailhaven.shoemaker@house.state.md.us   Phone: (410 841 3359

 

Frederick County Delegate:

Delegate Kathryn Afzali Emailkathy.afzali@house.state.md.us   Phone: (410 841 3288)

 

Baltimore City Delegates:

Delegate Mary Washington, District 43 Emailmary.washington@house.state.md.us   Phone: (410 841 3476)

Delegate Bilal Ali District 41 Emailbilal.ali@house.state.md.us    Phone: ( 410 841 3268)

Delegate Nick Mosby, District 40 Emailnick.mosby@house.state.md.us   Phone: (410 841 3520)

 

Cecil County Delegates :

Delegate Kevin Hornberger, District 35A Emailkevin.hornberger@house.state.md.us   Phone: (410 841 3284)  

Delegate Teresa E. Reilly, District 35B Emailteresa.reilly@house.state.md.us   Phone: ( 410 841 3278

 

Charles County Delegate:

Delegate Edith J. Patterson, Ed.D.,  District 28 Emailedith.patterson@house.state.md.us   Phone: (410 841 3247)

Anne Arundel County Delegate:

Delegate Meagan C. Simonaire, District 31B Emailmeagan.simonaire@house.state.md.us   Phone: (410 841 3206)

 

Allegany County Delegate:

Delegate Jason C. Buckel, District 1B Emailjason.buckel@house.state.md.us   Phone: (410 841 3404)

 

Hartford County Delegate:

Delegate Teresa E. Reilly, District 35B Emailteresa.reilly@house.state.md.us   Phone: ( 410 841 3278)